Meet The Nottingham's Board

The Board of The Nottingham includes one full-time executive director and seven non-executive directors. The Board, which normally meets monthly, is responsible for directing and supervising the Group’s affairs. It sets the strategy for the business, ensures that the correct financial and human resources are in place for the Group to meet its objectives and reviews management performance. 

The Chairman is responsible for leading the Board and is not involved in the day-to-day management of the Society. 

There are a number of Board Committees to which the Board has delegated authority – the Audit Committee, the Nominations Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Risk Committee.

Please see the Board and Committee membership and their Terms of Reference below.

Current Board of Directors 

Chairman: Andrew Neden MA, FCA
Andrew joined the Board in 2014. He is a Chartered Accountant with over 35 years’ experience in financial services in the UK and overseas. After a number of years running KPMG's UK financial sector transaction services team, he was the global Chief Operating Officer for KPMG's financial services business. Current directorships include the Wesleyan Assurance Society and ABC International Bank Plc; he chairs the Audit Committee for both organisations. He also chairs Aetna Insurance Company Limited, and a couple of small charities.

Senior Independent Director: Kerry Spooner LLB (Hons) 
Kerry joined the Board in September 2016. Kerry had 10 years of financial services experience in the building society sector before joining the Board. She acted as a Non-Executive Director at two other building societies and has experience as Vice Chair, Senior Independent Director and Chair of Remuneration Committee and Chair of Nomination Committee. Prior to that Kerry worked as a solicitor for 20 years, the last nine years as a corporate finance partner of the international law firm Allen & Overy LLP. Kerry is also a Non-Executive Director of Scotiabank Europe plc and a non-executive member of the Remuneration Committee of ANZ Banking Group UK Branch.

Chief Executive: David Marlow* ACIB
David joined the Board in 2006 and became Chief Executive in 2011. Prior to his appointment as Chief Executive, David held the post of Retail Director. He has over 30 years’ experience drawn from a number of senior roles in the financial services industry. Before joining The Nottingham, David held a number of senior posts in retail banking at Alliance & Leicester Plc, including Director of Current Accounts & Savings and Managing Director Alliance & Leicester Direct. He is currently a member of the Building Societies Association Council representing the Midlands and West Regional Association, which he chairs, and also represents building societies on the FCA’s Small Business Practitioners Panel.

Kavita Patel 
Kavita joined the Board at the beginning of 2017. She is a partner and Head of Investment Funds at the law firm, Shakespeare Martineau. Kavita has a wealth of experience advising clients in the financial services arena both in the retail and institutional space on corporate, regulatory and governance matters.

Simon Baum
Simon joined the Board in June 2018. Simon has spent over 30 years specialising in risk management within the financial services arena, holding several senior positions at Experian, Alliance & Leicester and Santander, both within the UK and overseas. His previous roles include Director of Mortgage Risk at Santander.

Simon Linares
Simon joined the Board in 2019. He brings a wealth of people and development experience spanning a range of sectors including FMCG, telecommunications and insurance. His most recent position was Group HR Director at Direct Line where he leads the HR, communications, public affairs and CSR strategies and in 2018 was ranked amongst the top five most influential HR practitioners. Prior to Direct Line, Simon headed up human resources for O2 Europe and Telefonica's digital businesses and Diageo, covering different geographies and cultures including Africa, Spain and Portugal.

Mike Brierley
Mike has over 35 years' experience in Chief Financial Officer (CFO) roles within the financial services industry, most recently as CFO of Metro Bank PLC where he played a key role in helping lead the challenger bank from start-up to listing from 2009 to 2018. He spent seven years at Capital One Europe as CFO Europe, CFO UK and Chief Risk Officer Europe.   He has also worked as CFO for Royal Trust Bank, Financial Controller at Industrial Bank of Japan, CFO of Gentra Limited and Director, Business Risk at Barclaycard. Mike is a Fellow of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is currently a Non-Executive Director at Admiral Group plc the FTSE100 insurance multinational and chairs Admiral Financial Services Limited, a subsidiary of the Group which provides unsecured personal loans and car finance.

Peter O’Donnell 
Peter joined the Board in January 2021. He is an Executive Vice President at Unum, a Fortune 500 company, where he has worked since 2010. He is currently CEO of its UK business and Chairman of Unum Poland. Peter has over 30 years’ experience in Financial services and worked as in a variety of senior finance roles at Prudential, RSA and Aviva. Peter has a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from University College Dublin, is a fellow of CIMA and has significant experience of both international and the UK markets.

*Executive director

To read our Board Terms of Reference, please click here.

Board Committees

This committee has responsibility for the Society’s financial reporting and systems of internal control. It also has oversight of both Internal Audit and External Audit operations and effectiveness.

  1. Mike Brierley
  2. Kavita Patel
  3. Kerry Spooner

To read our Audit Committee Terms of Reference, please click here. For our Internal Audit Charter please click here.

This committee is responsible for recommending a succession plan to the Board of Directors.

  1. David Marlow
  2. Andrew Neden
  3. Kerry Spooner

To read our Nominations Committee Terms of Reference, please click here.

This committee makes recommendations to the Board on the general remuneration policy of the Society and specifically on the remuneration of Executive Directors. The committee also has oversight of the remuneration of both the Society’s senior management team and Remuneration Code staff.

  1. Kerry Spooner
  2. Andrew Neden
  3. Kavita Patel
  4. Simon Linares 
To read our Remuneration Committee Terms of Reference, please click here.

This committee is responsible for ensuring key risks are identified and steps taken to mitigate them. It ensures consideration is given to all significant matters relating to governance, control, regulatory and compliance issues and that adequate capital is maintained to cover the Group’s key risks.

  1. Simon Baum
  2. Andrew Neden
  3. Kerry Spooner
  4. Kavita Patel
  5. Simon Linares
  6. Mike Brierley
  7. Peter O’Donnell
To read our Risk Committee Terms of Reference, please click here.

Last updated on: